Share |

DPWH Bicol Launches 'Lakbay Alalay' Program for UNDAS

LEGAZPI CITY, Oct. 29 -- In line with the Department of Public Works and Highways' (DPWH) thrust of assisting all motorists in the forthcoming observance of All Saints' Day on November 1, Secretary Rogelio Singson has directed all regional directors and district engineers to activate a composite team who will aid the traveling public.

In Bicol, DPWH Regional Director Danilo Dequito has ordered the deployment of Motorists' Assistance Centers on strategic locations of the national highway of Bicol. Each District Engineering Office in the region has an existing organized team ready to give free roadside emergency repair assistance to motorists during long holidays.

These teams are composed of engineers, car mechanics, equipment operators and other service crews.

This program, dubbed as "Lakbay Alalay" will start at 6:00 a.m. on October 30, 2010 until 12:00 noon of November 3, 2010.

This is in coordination with the Land Transportation Office (LTO), the Philippine National Police (PNP) and the Local Government Unit (LGU) officials. These Centers will be installed at the following locations:

Albay province : Basud, Sto. Domingo (DM Jct.-Legazpi-Sto. Domingo-Tabaco-Camarines Sur Bdry. Road); Busay, Daraga, Albay (Daang Maharlika); Paulog, Ligao City (in front of Albay 2nd DEO);

Camarines Norte: Tabugon, Sta. Elena (Km 244+313, Daang Maharlika) (with roving unit);

Camarines Sur: Tambo, Pamplona (Daang Maharlika); Concepcion Grande, Naga City (fronting TMG Hqtrs); Tigaon Station (DPWH Junction); Buluang, Baao (Daang Maharlika); Bato Resthouse, Agos (Daang Maharlika); and DPWH Sub-Office, Agrupacion, Ragay;

Catanduanes: Manambrag, San Andres (Catanduanes Circ. Road); Pagsangahan, Sa Miguel (km 24+780); Bato, Catanduanes (km. 7=760); ad Sicmil, Gigmoto (kn. 64+800);

Masbate: Jct. Milagros-Baleno-Lagta Road; Jct. Tawad-Balud Road; Masbate-Milagros/Masbate-Cataingan Road; Junction Buenabista (jct. Buenavista-Cawayan Road); Barangay Del Carmen (Jct. Buenavista-Cawaya Road); Barangay Balocawe, Dimasalag (Jct. Balatucan-Cataingan Rd.); Jct. Cataingan (Jct. Balatucan-Cataingan Road); Brug. Katipunan (Jct. Cataingan-Placer Road); San Fernando South Road (Batuan Section); San Fernando North Road (San Fernando Section); San Fernando North Road (San Jacinto Section); Sa Fernando North Road (Monreal Section); San Fernando North Road (San Pascual Side); and San Pascual-Claveria Road (Claveria Section);

Sorsogon: Pepita Park, Bucalbucalan (Daang Maharlika) and San Pedro Multi-Purpose Brgy. Hall, Irosin (Km. 621+800)