Share |

Albay's Outstanding Educators, Students Feted

Albay Governor Joey Salceda
Albay Governor Joey Salceda


LEGAZPI CITY, Dec. 22 (PIA) — Educators and students who have shown exemplary performance in their respective fields manifesting the advancement of the education system in the province were cited in Albay’s Gawad Edukasyon awarding ceremonies Friday (December 17) held at the Albay Astrodome here

Albay Gov. Joey Salceda, who pioneered the education enhancement program in the province in 2008 under the program Education Quality for Albayanos (EQUAL), said that over 70 awardees and qualifiers were nominated to this year’s awards program making it with the most number of participants since the program inception.

Salceda bared that some 27 awardees and 49 qualifiers received each a certificate and plaque of recognition as well as cash incentives ranging from P3,000 to P200,000 each, depending on the categories, totaling to P2.1 million cash incentives.

"With these numbers, both of educators and students, our main objective of providing Albayanos with quality education is gradually gaining more support from the various sectors of our society," Salceda said.

Dr. Rowena Ondiz, chief of Albay's Research and Planning Division and Awards Committee in-charge, said the awards program has four categories, including Student Excellence in Academics and Leadership (SEAL); Ten Outstanding Teachers of Albay (TOTAL); Three Outstanding Principals in the Countryside of Albay (TROPICAL); and Kadunong LGU, for LGUs with best practices in education development.

Albay’s Gawad Edukasyon has cited Rhod Jeran Sabater, of Polangui Comprehensive High School(PGCHS); John Eulo Bas, of Tabaco National High School(TNHS); Jessa Marie Monzon, of Marcial O. Rañola Memorial School (MORMS); Micah Madrelejos, PGCHS; Andre Nico Belen, of Ligao National High School (LNHS); Kimberly Rapirap, of St. Michael Academy; Roland Francis Dacillo, TNHS; Antonette Reburiano, PGCHS; Shaira Orogo, MORMS; and Aaron Castillo, of Legazpi City Science High School LCSHS), in the student category wherein each received P20,000 and plaque of recognition.

Michelle M. Damiel, LCSHS; Diana L. Desuyo, of Bicol Regional Science High School (BRSHS); Sixto O. Orzales, of Albay Central School (ACS); Leopoldo C. Brizuela Jr., LNHS; Nora J. Laguda, MORMS; Shirley M. Rustria, of Oas North Central School (ONCS); Hazel C. Asejo, of Aquinas University of Legazpi Science High School (AUL-LSHS; Ruben B. Cenita, AUL-LSHS; Roger B. Bañal, TNHS; and Nancy M. Aguda, ACS composed the list of TOTAL who each received P100,000.

Three school principals namely Dr. Norma B. Orozco, of Pagasa National High School (PNHS); Rhodie H. Quirab, of Ligao East Central Elementary School (LECES); and Carmen J. Beldad, ACS topped the list in the TROPICAL awardees each also receiving some P100,000.