Share |

CSC campus writers bag 12 awards in Luzon press confab

CSC Statesman, the official tertiary student publication of the Catanduanes State Colleges, together with its editors, brought home 12 major awards in the 11th Luzonwide Higher Education Press Congress on February 8-10, 2012 in Balanga, Bataan.

Close to 800 student writers, who are all top five winners from Regions 1, 2, 3, 4-A, 4-B, 5, Cordillera Administrative Region and Region 7 (Cebu), competed for the Top 10 awards in the Luzonwide edition of individual writing and group competitions. 

Dave S. Tolentino bagged the Highest Individual Pointer award, 3rd place in editorial writing, 4th place, and 4th place, poetry writing; Jerard Paul V. Tulod, 7th place, photojournalism and Christine Mae P. Petajen, 7th place, development communication article writing. 

In the group competition, the CSC Statesman news magazine was proclaimed seventh best news page, fourth best sports page, fifth best literary page, ninth best development communications page and 10th best page design.

The group contest featured the best-published outputs of the current editorial board and staff of university and college student publications.

The CSC Statesman editorial board for SY 2011-2012 is headed by Jonathan V. Tulod, editor in chief, with Dave S. Tolentino, associate editor; Marian Claire V. Tulod, managing editor; John Ely B. Templonuevo, news editor; Cyril Patrice O. Bernardino, features editor; John Dewey B. Chavez, literary editor; Christine Mae P. Petajen, finance officer and patnugot sa kultura at lathalain; Paul John C. Padilla, sports editor;

Bren Garette Z. Rivera, online and multimedia editor; Joebert Angelo C. Toledo, layout and graphics editor; Jordan T. Ignacio, Art Editor; John Kurt O. Valles, assistant layout editor; Jerard Paul V. Tulod, assistant art editor; Diane Camille L. Quintal, circulation manager;

Richard Icawat, Kyle Rochelle B. Teves, Maria Teresa Q. dela Rosa, Karen Ailene P. Benavidez, senior staff writers; Kathleen M. Arcilla, Jessica Paula M. Aquino, Crisanta P. Benitez, Abygale A. Bagadiong, German T. Tejada, junior staff writers.

More than a hundred publications from over 133 government and private universities and colleges in Luzon vied for the annual scholastic journalism competition.

Apart from Tolentino, CSC has already produced two highest individual pointers in this collegiate press meet – Mark Anthony Viñas in 2005, John Elmar V. Templonuevo in 2010. CSC so far has produced the most number of top individual pointers among Region V higher education institutions.

The CSC student writers also expressed their gratitude to the support of two CSC alumni - Major Roberto B. Sarmiento of Department of National Defense and Ms. Dirma Templonuevo of the Commission on Audit, as well as to the CSC administration.