Share |

Mayors League of Camarines Sur elects new officers, aims to heal differences among members

NAGA CITY -- The influential League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP), Camarines Sur chapter elected its new officers for 2013 to 2016 at the posh Villa Caceres Hotel here on Wednesday (August 28).

Tigaon town Mayor Arnulfo Bryan Fuentebella, son of former 4th District of Cam. Sur Congressman Arnulfo “Noli” Fuentebella, was elected President by a majority of 25 Mayors from a total of 35 towns and 1 component city of the province.

Giving various reasons, 11 of the Cam. Sur mayors were not present in the election - including supposed Fuentebella's rival-opponent for the top post, Nabua Mayor Delia Simbulan.

Dispensing with the usual “secret balloting,” 25 Mayors endorsed Fuentebella “viva voce” as the new head of LMP Cam. Sur.

Fuentebella told the media that LMP Cam. Sur will not decide along party lines and vowed that the voice of the majority will prevail in implementing its programs.

In 2012, former LMP Cam. Sur president Buhi Mayor Rey Lacoste cut his term short when he found himself in the opposite end of the majority of C. Sur Mayors who supported an unsuccessful Congressional effort to divide the province of Camarines Sur.

Lacoste said that despite the differences among mayors during his term, he will fully support the newly elected president and other officers to preserve unity in the mayor’s league.

Other officers elected for 3-year terms were Ragay town Mayor Ricky Aquino as Executive Vice-President; Tinambac Mayor Ruel Velarde, Secretary; Mayor “Embot” Angeles, Treasurer and San Jose Antonio Chavez, Public Relation Officer. (SONNY SALES)