Camarines Sur split: Economic issues (Second of 3 parts)

In the first part, I discussed the profile of Camarines Sur in relation to the 5 other provinces of the Bicol Region. This second part is focused on the 35 municipalities and 2 cities of the province in the context of the proposed division, and how Cam Sur fares vis-a-vis the requisites of creating Nueva Camarines. The last part will tackle the advantages and disadvantages of the proposed Cam Sur split. 

Table 1. The Camarines Sur Split      
Old Cam Sur      
Reduced Cam Sur (District 1, 2, 3)     Nueva Cam (District 4, 5)
Cabusao Bombon Caramoan Tanambac
Del Gallego Calabanga Garchitorena Baao
Libmanan Camaligan Goa Balatan
Lupi Canaman Lagonoy Bato
Minalabac Gainza Presentacion Buhi
Ragay Magarao Sagnay Bula
Pamplona Milaor San Jose Iriga City
Pasacao Naga City Siruma Nabua
San Fernando Ocampo Tigaon  
Sipocot Pili    
1 city, 19 municipalities     1 city, 16 municipalities


As shown in Table 1, the municipalities of old Cam Sur will be relatively fairly divided because the reduced province will have 19 munipalities and 1 city, although Naga City is an independent chartered city. The new province, on the other hand, will have 16 municipalities and 1 city. The towns of Districts 1, 2 and 3 will be left with the reduced Cam Sur while Districts 4 and 5, specifically Rinconada and Partido areas, will constitute Nueva Cam. All in all, the reduced province will still have greater number of municipalities left than the proposed Nueva Cam, as well as more number of political districts.

Table 2. Poverty Incidence in the Municipalities of Cam Sur
Municipality Poverty incidence Municipality Poverty incidence Municipality Poverty incidence Municipality Poverty incidence
Cabusao 61.23 Bombon 51.12 Caramoan 59.47 Tanambac 58.17
Del Gallego 57.79 Calabanga 46.95 Garchitorena 68.46 Baao 44.74
Libmanan 57.76 Camaligan 33.71 Goa 49.10 Balatan 63.26
Lupi 57.76 Canaman 31.72 Lagonoy 52.81 Bato 50.75
Minalabac 55.83 Gainza 45.24 Presentacion 60.57 Buhi 51.62
Ragay 56.51 Magarao 39.43 Sagnay 59.12 Bula 56.59
Pamplona 48.91 Milaor 42.12 San Jose 42.09 Iriga City 29.87
Pasacao 62.56 Naga City 18.91 Siruma 58.76 Nabua 39.03
San Fernando 47.02 Ocampo 55.85 Tigaon 51.07    
Sipocot 52.3 Pili 38.01        


Table 2 presents the small area poverty incidence of the municipalities of Cam Sur. The top 2 poorest towns, Garchitorena and Balatan, as well as 2 of the top 6 poorest, Presentacion and Caramoan, are all prospective parts of Nueva Cam. While 2 other poorest municipalities, Pasacao and Cabusao, are prospective parts of the reduced Cam Sur. On the contrary, 4 of the more well-off communities, Naga City, Canaman, Camaligan, Pili, are all found in the reduced Cam Sur. While only 2 of the 6 richer localities, Iriga City and Nabua, are located in Nueva Cam.

Table 3. Income Classification of the Municipalities of Cam Sur
Municipality Income Class Municipality Income Class Municipality Income Class Municipality Income Class
Cabusao 5 Bombon 5 Caramoan 5 Tanambac 3
Del Gallego 4 Calabanga 2 Garchitorena 4 Baao 2
Libmanan 1 Camaligan 4 Goa 2 Balatan 5
Lupi 4 Canaman 4 Lagonoy 3 Bato 3
Minalabac 4 Gainza 5 Presentacion 5 Buhi 2
Ragay 3 Magarao 5 Sagnay 4 Bula 3
Pamplona 4 Milaor 5 San Jose 4 Iriga City 3
Pasacao 3 Naga City 1 Siruma 5 Nabua 3
San Fernando 4 Ocampo 4 Tigaon 4    
Sipocot 2 Pili 2        


Table 3 shows the income classification of the localities. Income class reflects the financial performance of the local government unit. First class towns are those whose govenrment earns an average annual income of P450 million or more. There are only 2 first class localities in the province – Naga City and Libmanan – and both of them are found in the reduced Cam Sur. Second class municipalities are Sipocot, Calabanga, Pili – all located in the reduced Cam Sur – and Goa, Baao, Buhi – all prospective parts of the new province. There are 9 fifth class localities, 5 of which – Cabusao, Bombon, Gainza, Magarao, Milaor – are found in the reduced Cam Sur, while the other 4 – Caramoan, Presentacion, Siruma, Balatan – are located in Nueva Cam.

Tables 2 and 3 reveal that good financial performance of a local government unit does not necessarily translate to better economic conditions of consituents. Cam Sur is a first class province but more than half or 58% of its municipalities belong to fourth and fifth income class.  

Table 4. Requisites in Creating a New Province
Category Requisite Old Cam Sur Reduced Cam Sur Nueva Cam
Land area 2,000 km2 5,266.8 km2 2,571.4 km2 2,695.4 km2
Population 250000 1,551,549 738,494 813,055
Income/IRA P20 million 1,139,991,220 752,930,000 607,070,000
    Actual 2010 IRA (DBM 2011) Computed 2012 IRA (UP-CLGR 2011)  


The last table shows the requisites in creating a province. Both the new and mother provinces should each have a land area of at least 2,000 square kilometers, population of at least 250,000 and income of at least P20 million. Based on the table, both the reduced Cam Sur and Nueva Cam are well beyond the minimum requirements in creating a province in terms of land area, population and income. Moreover, the income classification of both new and mother provinces remain within the first income category since the respective local government incomes are beyond P450 million.